Annual Recommendations Release Event

Presenting our FY2022 report to the state of Massachusetts
Tuesday, June 15th, 2021 – 10:00 – 11:30 AM – Virtual event on Zoom

Please join us for this virtual ceremony to mark the release of our annual report providing policy recommendations to the state government and its agencies for the upcoming fiscal year 2022. Along with our priority areas of homelessness, juvenile justice, health, and inclusion, we will present an expanded and updated section on the effect of the COVID-19 pandemic on LGBTQ youth and young adults.

We will hear from Commission leadership, Congresswoman Ayanna Pressley, and State Representative Natalie Higgins about issues facing LGBTQ youth today and how the State of Massachusetts can support them.

Congresswoman Ayanna Pressley (MA-7th)

State Representative Natalie Higgins (4th Worcester)
Senator Ed Markey (D-MA)

In addition to releasing its annual recommendations report, the Commission will also publicly swear in its 50 members from across Massachusetts and present Advancing Equity awards to those making a difference in the lives of LGBTQ youth.

We hope you will join us and spread the word! Please contact us with any questions at and stay in touch through our newsletter.

Advancing Equity Awards

Each year, the Massachusetts Commission on LGBTQ Youth presents Advancing Equity Awards to community members who have made an outstanding impact on the lives and well-being of LGBTQ+ youth in the Commonwealth in the past year. Previous awards have been given to those who lead coalitions on areas like homelessness and juvenile justice, fight for legislative change, to trans health advocates, and to youth working on inclusion in schools and communities.

2020 Recipients

Casey Dooley, Chair of Boston Black Pride
Ashton Mota and Rothsaida Sylvaince, youth activists for LGBTQ rights
David Conner, Community Engagement Director for the Worcester Historical Museum
Don Gorton and Arline Isaacson, co-chairs for the MA Coalition to Ban Conversion Therapy
Mandy Lussier and Katherine Sloss-Hartman, Youth on Fire

2019 Recipients

Katherine O’Connor and Leo Austin Spooner, youth activists
Sana Fadel, Deputy Director of Citizens for Juvenile Justice
Athena Vaughn, Senior Transgender Health Navigator at Fenway Health
Alex Nally, Former Chair of the Commission

2018 Recipients

Greater Boston GSA Leadership Council
Chastity Bowick, Director of Transgender Emergency Fund
Kelly Turley, Associate Director of Massachusetts Coalition for the Homeless
Effie Molina, Chair of DCF’s LGBTQ Liaisons
David Sykes, New Bedford area director of MRC (Mass Rehab)